Mystic Musings on Career Planning

6 06 2008

My friend shouted at the top of his voice, “Are you mad?”

 

His outburst was caused by the blurting out of my discovery of a strange pattern of coincidences in my career.

 

I was born on October 2, Thursday. October 2 fell on a Thursday, five times between my birth and 1997 in 1969, 1975, 1980, 1986, and 1997. In each of these years, my career scaled a new peak. In 1960, it was my performance in my Class VI exam, in 1975 it was Higher Secondary, in 1980 it was B.Tech., in 1986 it was M.Tech (1980) and in 1997 it was Ph.D. –  my academic performances stood out in comparison with other years. In 2003, I created AXELL, a model for transformation of resource to human asset, as a post doctoral thesis. Are these mere coincidences?

 

The invisible hand of the nature plays a big role in our lives without our knowledge. We delude ourselves by believing that we alone are responsible for shaping our careers.

 

We attribute values to objects and conditions based on our infinitesimally limited knowledge of our own selves and the universe. As this knowledge system changes continually so do the values that we attribute to the same set objects and conditions.

 

If nothing is absolute in our ephemeral value system how can we measure any career achievement with it? Since we can’t predict its next state, we are not in control of the change in our knowledge system which in turn decide our value system which finally determine  for us what constitute our career highs and lows.

 

Ergo, career planning is nothing but a futile process of judging something unknown based on past knowledge which is neither robust nor reliable and therefore defies any projection into the future.

 

As if, I’ve not tortured my friend enough, I announced, to his utter bewilderment, that my birth date and birth day are going to coincide again on 2nd October this year and on that particular day I’ll commence the second innings of my life.

 

Let’s see, this time around, what my career planner has in store for me.

 

Will keep you posted.

 

– Dr. Chinmoy Sarkar.

 

 

 

Actions

Information

4 responses

6 06 2008
Tulpi

This is a sign. I use the word sign because coincidence seemed too tame and a miracle sounds tacky. I say it’s a sign because whatever is right and should happen always leaves an illuminated trail of its own. This is one of those incedents. I am sure even this year your birthday will hold a true pathway for you. Wish you good luck with your path.

6 06 2008
Lalty

This is truly a call of nature. Your job will have to be to move on on your own without any self doubt. then nature will be with you too providing you with opportunities at appropriate times.

6 06 2008
Tamal

This reminds me the commencement address by Steve Jobs at Stanford in June 2005….. he said “life is a story of connecting dots …….again, you can’t connect the dots looking forward; you can only connect them looking backwards. So you have to trust that the dots will somehow connect in your future. You have to trust in something – your gut, destiny, life, karma, whatever. This approach has never let me down, and it has made all the difference in my life. “

10 06 2008
G.Mohan

Tamal : Connecting dots in the case of Steve Jobs was a set of seemingly unrelated set of choices or activities which he made and then how they started making sense looking backwards. For example, he talks about the course in calligraphy he took while he was studying at the University and the later innovation of fonts in Macintosh’s word processing software.

In the case of Dr Sarkar’s career the dots are pretty straight-forward set of activities in an academic’s life. The spacing of these dots has started making sense looking backwards, that too in a mystical sort of way.

Leave a Reply

